Com&Com

Nature and culture

Youtube Wikipedia Twitter Facebook Instagram

Nature and culture

The special character of the Safiental valley is brought forth both by the outstanding topography as well as its isolation due to geological factors. The landscape’s relief is marked by high mountain ranges in the southern, western and eastern parts of the valley. Steep, unstable slopes and numerous ravines featuring wild mountain streams form the particularities of the valley’s landscape over long distances. Its natural borders therefore define the development and exploitation of the land: many meadows are impossible to cultivate intensively due to their topographic particularities and therefore remain untouched.

Safiensommer018However, the German-speaking Walser that started colonizing the region around 1300 did not shy away from the harsh geological and climate factors. They built their villages in such a way as to “enable everyone to have his own ground and soil around him”, since the extensive land necessary to cattle breeding required large surfaces, in the middle of which they placed their farmhouses. This strategy made for widespread settlements with large distances from one farmhouse to another, a typical feature still visible today.

Bildschirmfoto 2016-03-07 um 15.58.46

Projects and initiatives such as the  Walserpath and the Safier Ställe, as well as the local history museum in Camada-Boda tell visitors about the valley’s cultural heritage and highlight the relations between landscape and culture from a historical point of view. The Safiental landscapes have also appeared in several recent films, such as Walking to Paris (Peter Greenaway, 2016), The Hour of Living (Sebastian Michael, 2012) or The incredible adventure of Mocmoc & Mermer (Com&Com, 2005). But until today, the only experimental forms of music, film and visual arts shown in the valley were during the Safien Triennal festivals (2001, 2004, 2007).
The exhibition project Art Safiental expressly chooses to explore the close relationship between art and landscapes by developing Land Art projects in the Alps Art Academy on site.

Photos Summer
Photos Winter

Com&Com

Natur und Kultur

Youtube Wikipedia Twitter Facebook Instagram

Natur und Kultur

Was diese Landschaft im Safiental auszeichnet und zu etwas Speziellem macht, ergibt sich einerseits aus der Topografie und durch die Abgeschiedenheit, die durch die Geologie erzwungen wird. Das Relief dieses Raumes ist geprägt durch hohe Bergzüge, die das Safiental im Süden, Osten und Westen abschliessen. Steile, instabile Hänge und zahlreiche, von Wildbächen tief eingeschnittene Tobel prägen das Tal über weite Strecken. Sowohl der Erschliessung wie auch der Bewirtschaftung sind deshalb von jeher natürliche Grenzen gesetzt. Viele Wiesen im Safiental konnten aufgrund ihrer topologischen Lage nicht intensiv bewirtschaftet werden. Dank Subventionen blieben diese bis heute erhalten und unberührt.

Safiensommer018Die deutschsprachigen Walser, die um 1300 ins Safiental einzuwandern begannen, liessen sich von den anspruchsvollen geologischen und klimatischen Bedingungen jedoch nicht abschrecken. Sie legten ihre Höfe so an, „damit jeder seinen eigenen Grund und Boden um sich habe“, denn die extensive Bodennutzung durch die Viehzucht erforderte für jeden Betrieb eine grosse Bewirtschaftungsfläche, in deren Mitte die Walser ihre Häuser errichteten. Daraus ergab sich die für Streusiedlungen typische grosse Distanz von einem Wohnhaus zum anderen, was auch heute noch die vorherrschende Streusiedlungsform ist.

Bildschirmfoto 2016-03-07 um 15.58.46

Initiativen und Projekte wie der Walserweg und die Safier Ställe oder das Heimatmuseum in Camada-Boda vermitteln die Kulturgeschichte und das Zusammenspiel von Landschaft und Kultur aus historischer Sicht.
Im zeitgenössischen Film sah man die Landschaften des Safiental jüngst mehrfach (Walking to Paris (Peter Greenaway, 2016), The Hour of Living (Sebastian Michael, 2012) oder The incredible adventure of Mocmoc & Mermer (Com&Com, 2005).  Einzig die Safien Triennale (2001, 2004, 2007) brachte bisher temporär experimentelle Formen von Musik, Film und Bildender Kunst ins Safiental.
Das Ausstellungsprojekt Art Safiental nimmt sich dieser naheliegenden Verbindung von Landschaft und Kunst explizit an und entwickelt in der Alps Art Academy zeitgenössische Land Art-Projekte für den Aussenraum des Safientals.

Fotos Sommer
Fotos Winter